•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Three camera's to choose from...!

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 DavM

DavM

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Almelo, Netherlands

Posted 27 January 2021 - 04:29 AM

Hello all, I've been doing deep sky imaging for about 5 years and intend trying solar imaging during the summer months. I will be using the Daystar Quark Chromosphere

I have an ASI 071 MC Pro, an ASI 120MC  and an ASI 120mm mini.

Further, TS 80mm f6 APO triplet refractor (480mm) and TS 0.79 reducer/flattener, which makes it an ~f4.7 at 388mm focal length.

My questions:

which camera would be best for this endeavour?

and can I still use the reducer in front of the diagonal, together with a IR/UV block filter screwed into the reducer?

Thanks in advance

Regards

Dave

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 27 January 2021 - 04:39 AM

Mono camera is better but ASI120 has quite small sensor.

But if you use the reducer you can just (only just) fit sun in image.

You can test it here:

https://www.12dstrin....uk/fovcalc.php

Results
FOV: 42.97' x 32.23'
Resolution: 2.01"/pixe

#3 DavM

DavM

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 January 2021 - 04:57 AM

Hello Tapio, many thanks for your speedy reply, and thanks for the link to test. I think the ASI 071 MC Pro will work nicely, possibly making a mosaic for a full disk! The 120mm will maybe work for closeups.

Regards 

Dave

#4 cmas

cmas

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Finland

Posted 27 January 2021 - 07:20 AM

I have to same OTA. I used it with the following imaging train as the Quark has a built-in 4.2x:

A) 90 mm diameter D-ERF from Baader

B) TS 80/480 triplet

1) Baader variable length T2-T2 extension

2) T2-2" adapter

3) Chromo Quark

4) Quark to 2"

5) Daystar 0.5x flattener (basically any decent one will do)