•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First thoughts on the AT80ED

refractor equipment
  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 ravenhawk82

ravenhawk82

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 January 2021 - 04:35 PM

I finally pulled the trigger on an AT80ED as a medium-wide field scope to compliment my much longer focal length RC. Of course, having just received a scope, I haven't yet had clear skies to put it to the test with. I am however sharing my thoughts so far as this seems like a fantastic instrument for the cost. 

Some background, I've never used an ED or Apochromatic scope before. I take pictures with an AT6RC and observe visually with an ES152 achromatic refractor. I recognize that I went backwards relative to most people's journey with astrophotography, but I've enjoyed using this to shoot medium-small DSOs over the years. I got this with a couple things in mind. It's primary role is to be my wide® field scope as I don't have anything right now with less than 1000mm of focal length that I'd want to connect a camera to. Secondary roles are as a more powerful guide scope for my RC (it really pushes the limits of my mini guide scope and ASI120 guide camera) and a portable visual scope for when I don't feel like lugging batteries and cables around. Right off the bat I'm impressed with what I got for just shy of $400.