•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Sensor size relationship to aperture and focal length

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Sunpilot

Sunpilot

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Mesa, Arizona

Posted 05 February 2021 - 12:40 PM

I'm relatively new to astrophotography through a telescope.  I've done some work with my Canon EOS 6D.  I finally decided to buy a good mount, I am picking up my CEM60 on Tuesday, so that is no longer a concern. I want to start concentrating finding a telescope to mount on the CEM60 and what cameras to use.  I understand that the size of pixels and sensor size affects the image through different scopes and the aperture and focal lengths play a role also.  I don't really understand those differences totally and why it is important.   Currently I own two cameras.  The EOS 6D and I also own a Sony A6000, but it has been converted to infrared (hot mirror professionally removed).  The 6D has a full frame sensor and the A6000 is a crop sensor but has more pixels.  What can I expect from these cameras, and would I be better off looking for a pure astrocamera?   

Edited by Sunpilot, 05 February 2021 - 12:41 PM.

#2 redtag

redtag

Explorer 1

• Loc: Tennessee

Posted 05 February 2021 - 12:53 PM

You can get a very good idea of Field of View (FOV) and image scale in arc-sec/pixel by putting in any sensor information and focal length information in Stellarium ( a free and easy to use planetarium program). You want to use combinations that place the image scale between 1" and 2". Just pick out some targets that interest you and see how the combinations frame the object. 

• Sunpilot likes this

#3 Tapio

Tapio

Aurora

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 05 February 2021 - 12:53 PM

My opinion is this - first use what you have now.