•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Difference Between 90mm and 127mm or 130mm?

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 Dave96

Dave96

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Cincinnati, Ohio USA

Posted 23 February 2021 - 12:13 PM

Hello everyone. I am new to amateur astronomy and would like to know if there is a big difference in the view between a 90mm refractor and a 127mm or a 130mm refractor? I keep hearing that aperture is one of the key factors for telescopes. I currently own a 90mm refractor on an altazimuth mount since July 2020 and I have enjoyed it, but would like to know if a larger refractor makes a big difference or not. I am considering a second telescope (more aperture), preferably another refractor because I like the simplicity, size, and the durability. I do not have a specific model in mind, but my budget is about $800.00.

My viewing conditions are the suburbs (Bortle 6 sky) and I view planets, the moon, star clusters, double stars, M45, M42, M31 (was actually able to see M31 as a small grey-colored faint fuzzy), and any other brighter DSOs that my 90mm scope can handle. Will a 127mm or 130mm refractor show a considerable difference and more details of these objects compared to my 90mm? Also, is a 127mm Mak-Cass a good option for an overall telescope to view the same objects? I am only interested in viewing, no photography. I typically view at home in my yard or back deck. The details of my current 90mm refractor are below in my signature block.

I appreciate any advice from those with personal experience with various refractors and/or Mak-Cass telescopes. Thanks.

• Rollo likes this

#2 Supernova74

Supernova74

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 23 February 2021 - 12:35 PM