Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD2 question

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Baron von Smoogle

Baron von Smoogle

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2020
  • Loc: Lusby, MD

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:25 PM

Why do I get a "RA Calibration failed star did not move enough?

Sometimes I get the message, so.etimes I don't even if I don't change anything.  Tonight it has not started guiding at all.

I polar aligned with Sharpcap and got a "good" alignment.

I am using an Ioptron Starguider Pro.



#2 KTAZ

KTAZ

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,506
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2020
  • Loc: Scottsdale, AZ

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:27 PM

If you need answers to PHD2 questions, you need to attach a link to the guidelog and debuglog files that PHD2 generated on the night in question.

 

That will give folks something to analyze.



#3 imtl

imtl

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,487
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2016
  • Loc: Down in a hole

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:29 PM

Did you try and calibrate on a hot pixel instead of a star?



#4 Baron von Smoogle

Baron von Smoogle

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2020
  • Loc: Lusby, MD

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:32 PM

The program has picked about 10 or 12 different stars and has yet to calibrate and start guiding.  I'll pick a star manually and see if that works.



#5 Baron von Smoogle

Baron von Smoogle

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2020
  • Loc: Lusby, MD

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:34 PM

If you need answers to PHD2 questions, you need to attach a link to the guidelog and debuglog files that PHD2 generated on the night in question.

 

That will give folks something to analyze.

I will try that after I get home if it doesn't start working.



#6 kathyastro

kathyastro

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,977
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2016
  • Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:36 PM

If you are calibrating at high declinations, it will require bigger steps than if you are calibrating at low declinations.

 

It is moving the mount by intervals of RA, but looking for a result in pixels.  Because lines of RA converge towards the poles, it needs to move more RA units to get the same pixel movement.  You need to manually make this adjustment or you will get that message.

 

If you are using ASCOM pulse guiding instead of ST-4 guiding, you can calibrate once near the equator and then re-use the calibration on future targets at different declinations.


Edited by kathyastro, 24 February 2021 - 08:38 PM.

  • PhotonHunter1 likes this

#7 sbharrat

sbharrat

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 465
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2020
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:38 PM

Why do I get a "RA Calibration failed star did not move enough?

Sometimes I get the message, so.etimes I don't even if I don't change anything.  Tonight it has not started guiding at all.

I polar aligned with Sharpcap and got a "good" alignment.

I am using an Ioptron Starguider Pro.

Do you use EQMOD with this mount? When I had this with my EQMOD controlled mount, some default rate (forgot what it is called) was 0.1 sidereal. Changing it to 0.5 made the problem go away. 



#8 TxStars

TxStars

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,552
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Lost In Space

Posted 24 February 2021 - 08:50 PM

Check for cable bind 

Check balance & that the RA clutch is snug

**Also  check for backlash as this can cause issues




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics