•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

novice seeking advice

Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 StarGazed2

StarGazed2

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Georgian Bay, Central Ontario, Canada

Posted 26 February 2021 - 03:38 PM

Hello new astro friends. I'm a complete newbie having never looked through a telescope. I am old but active and strong. My interest is visual eg planets, bright DSOs and especially the lunar surface which I want to study in detail.

The ability to attach an astro camera down the road for individual pics would be an asset. I don't see a Dob set-up practical due to adverse winter conditions here in rural Ontario eg 2-3" of snow in the backyard. Bortle 4.

I want a grab & go system. From my research, I have identified the following possibilites:

1. S-W AZ-GTi mount. I don't have years/decades to learn the heavens on my own (not morbid just realistic)

2. either the  S-W Skymax Mak127 or 102 AZ-GTi package. The 1-2 hour cool down time of the 127 concerns me as a grab & go

3.a refractor eg S-W EvoStar ED Apo 72 or 80. I'v read here of the joys of a small ST refractor. Even if I don't get into astrophotography (likely) is an APO worth the extra $$ ?

I'm not looking for top of the line but I want quality.

My current binoculars ( below) are great for terrestrial but I'm a bit disappointed as far as the heavens are concerned.  Comments re Celestron Skymaster DX 8x56 please

thanks for your help. I'm very impressed with CN.

equipment: Nikon P900, Vortex Razor HD 10x42, skyguide app, several astro books

#2 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 26 February 2021 - 03:56 PM

Wrapping the Mak with Reflectivix pretty well solves cool down.