•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How Do You Properly Set Backlash Compensation on FocusCube?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: NJ, US

Posted 26 February 2021 - 10:46 PM

So I recently got the Pegasus FocusCube v2 and connected it to my GT81. I plugged it in, setup the software and ASCOM drivers. That night, I took the rig outside and played around. First, I used the manual controls and my GT81's built in Bahtinov mask along with NINA's focus assist to get a pretty bang-on focus. Next I started playing around with the auto focus in NINA and this is where my questions started to pop up.

I can set a step size as well as backlash compensation. When I first started playing with auto focus in NINA, it kept telling me my step size might be too small. So, I increased it. I also noticed that in the Pegasus software for the backlash compensation, it says the Pegasus should be set between 30 and 40. So, not having a clue if I even needed to compensate for backlash, I set it to 35.

My setup "seems" to auto-focus pretty well, but I really don't know if it's setup right, or how to diagnose what might need to change - if anything. For example, when the auto focus runs, it gives me a pretty decent parabola, although the bottom of it is a bit flat, rather than a nice curve down to the bottom of the V.

Any helpful setup tips or recommendations on what to look for?

Thanks in advance!

#2 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 04 March 2021 - 09:39 PM

I'm following up on my own post to add some more information from my own playing around and conflicting information I've found online (surprise, surprise) LOL.