•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is a DIY astrograph just to use a smaller central obstruction worth it?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 arun289

arun289

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Chennai, India

Posted 27 February 2021 - 10:37 AM

Hi,

I recently got a ASI533MC camera which is on the way. It has a rather small sensor with a 16mm diagonal. I am not able to make a build vs buy decision on a compact 6" F4 astrograph for this camera. I was wondering if I build one myself, I can use a smaller central obstruction as the scope would be dedicated for use with this camera. I am new to this, so correct me if I am wrong anywhere. Since the required fully illuminated image circle is a tiny 16mm, I hope to get away with a small secondary ~32mm instead of the tradiional 63mm which comes with off the shelf scopes to carter to larger camera sensors. The central obstruction is 20% for the 32mm compared to 42% for the 63mm. Am I overthinking this? Does the central obstruction matter much? I understand it reduces contrast and nothing else much. Does the difference in contrast worth the effort? Just for background, I am used to DIY and have descent capability there.

Regards,

Arun

#2 MitchAlsup

MitchAlsup

Fly Me to the Moon

• -----

Posted 27 February 2021 - 11:59 AM

Am I overthinking this? yes

Does the central obstruction matter much? only on planets

I understand it reduces contrast and nothing else much. it illuminates the outer field

Does the difference in contrast worth the effort? contrast in astrophoto is a slider in the post processing application.

https://www.bbastrod...om/diagonal.htm

I plugged in 6", f/4 = 24" focal length, diagonal to focal plane = 3"+3"+57mm, and the calculator says the smallest secondary you can "get away with (assuming you are using a Paracorr) is 2.14.