•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Rosette Nebula with the ASI2600MM

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mborland

mborland

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Chicago

Posted 27 February 2021 - 03:15 PM

I very recently received an ASI2600MM and chose the Rosette Nebula as my first subject. This is my first time doing narrowband imaging and I'm quite pleased with the results. I coupled the camera with a SW Esprit 120, APEX ED L reducer, and Antlia 3nm Pro S2, Ha, and O3 filters. Total exposure time for each filter was 3.9 h S2, 1.5 H Halpha, and 1.9h O3, taken over three nights with a nearly full moon. I used 6-minute exposures with a gain of 101 and a temperature of -10C. Everything was processed with PixInsight, with some final noise reduction in NeatImage.

RosetteNebula-SHO-2021-02-26s.jpg

A larger version is on my flickr page.

Based on this limited experience, I'm very happy with the camera and the filters. My processing needs work to sharpen things up and get rid of the magenta halos around the bright stars. Any suggestions how to do that? I used a star mask and desaturated the stars, making them all white, but that didn't cover the fringes of larger stars..

--Michael

Edited by mborland, 27 February 2021 - 03:16 PM.

• mikewayne3, Fernando134, Chris Ryan and 11 others like this

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 27 February 2021 - 03:23 PM

Magenta stars is a normal SHO result.  Try (PixInsight): Invert, SCNR, Invert.

• mborland likes this

#3 Stellar1

Stellar1

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 27 February 2021 - 03:40 PM

A beautiful image, colors are just amazing!

• mborland likes this

#4 ntph

ntph

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Sudbury, ON

Posted 27 February 2021 - 03:46 PM

NIce image; congratulations!