•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

WBPP and bad frames

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 EEBA

EEBA

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 February 2021 - 02:12 AM

Hi everyone, I have another question now. I have been using Pixinsight for a few months and now I am paying more attention to each program that I use in Pixinight.
I am still using the old WBPP and don’t understand who it works. I am able to get my image out in the linear form ready to post process. I know it uses eccentricity , SNR , and FMHW to weight images. But at the end of the WBPP when you get your final image. Does WBPP eliminate some frames? Where do those bad frames go to?

#2 endless-sky

endless-sky

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Padova, Italy

Posted 28 February 2021 - 03:03 AM

I use WBPP only for pre-processing, up to debayering.

Subframe weighting, star registration and image integration I still do manually.

For subframe weighting, I use FWHM, eccentricity and star count as metrics. I throw away the obvious bad frames (clouds, star trails, etc.).

For the weighting, I use this formula (taken from SubframeSelector Weighting Expressions_v2, by David Ault), but I modified it with Stars (the number of stars in the frame) instead of SNRWeight:

16*(1-(FWHM-FWHM_MIN)/A) + 4*(1-(Eccentricity-Eccentricity_MIN)/B) + 20*(Stars-Stars_MIN)/C + 60

where

A = FWHM_MAX - FWHM_MIN

B = Eccentricity_MAX - Eccentricity_MIN

C = Stars_MAX - Stars_MIN

The max and the min of all those values can be found by running SubframeSelector with "Measure" and then by sorting the results by FWHM, Eccentricity and Stars, respectively (in ascending or descending order).