•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Budget backpack telescope

Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 druotolo

druotolo

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Nice (France) & Italy

Posted 01 March 2021 - 05:36 PM

Ciao everybody,

a beginner here writing his first post.

I'm searching for a budget "backpack telescope", meaning a cheap telescope that I can take with me while hiking or travelling with nothing but my backpack.

I've put my eyes on these ones:

- Zhumell Z100: really good one but I have some doubt about its portability in a backpack, personally I think a refractor will be more suitable, furthermore this is not-collimable, and since I will use it as travel telescope it will easy take some bump and unrecoverably loose its collimation

- Meade LightBridge Mini 114 Reflector: according to several websites this seems the best one but, again, I have doubt on reflector's portability, here even more than before since this one is bigger than the Z100

- Meade Infinity 80mm refractor: this one looks pretty portable to me, but it is my understanding that it is not really a versatile telescope since it is more suitable for DSO observation

My idea is that a refractor is more portable than a reflector (portable == backpack portable), but refractor are more expensive and in general less versatile than reflector, furthermore there are lots of "toy refractors" out there so I should be very careful when choosing one. What do you think, am I right?

Any other suggestion will be really appreciated.

P.S.: I live in Europe and by cheap I mean max 150€ (180$, but I've seen some brands like Orion doing a 1-to-1 conversion, i.e. 150$ --> 150€ , and more often than I thought! So I think it is safer to assume 150$ as upper limit)

Thanks in advance,

ciao!

Edited by druotolo, 01 March 2021 - 05:42 PM.

#2 peta62