•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I am new to telescopes and need help, I just bought a Mak 180

Beginner Equipment Planet Observing Maksutov Imaging Eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ddahan47

ddahan47

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 March 2021 - 09:31 PM

Hiya Cloudy Nights!

I am very new to astrophotography and observing and using telescopes in general. I just bought a Skywatcher Mak 180. Here is a complete list of all the equipment I bought so far for my setup:

Skywatcher Mak 180

AstroZap heated dewshield

Tele-Vue ACC-003 2 inch SCT adapter

Generic T-adapter with SCT attachment threads

Celestron AVX Mount with 2 counterweights

STANLEY J5C09 JUMPiT Portable Power Station Jump Starter

ZWO ASI 174 camera

ZWO Electronic 8 Position Filter Wheel - 1.25"/31 mm Sized

Antares F/6.3 SCT Focal Reducer

Hubble Optics Hubble 5-Star Artificial Star (for collimating)

Baader UV-IR Cut Filter - 1.25" Round Mounted

Celestron Universal T-Adapter with Barlow - 1.25-inch

Baader Moon and SkyGlow Filter - 1.25" Round Mounted

ZWO 1.25" Atmospheric Dispersion Corrector

ZWO 1.25" LRGB Filters Optimized for ASI1600

I still want to buy a diagonal and eyepieces for the Mak 180, and a focuser for the Mak 180 too (maybe a feathertouch or moonlite focuser). I was thinking of getting a used 35mm Panoptic and maybe a couple more, but maybe a zoom one would be better? I would like to ideally spend less than 1-2k on all the rest of the equipment I need. 

I primarily want to use this scope for planetary astrophotography and observing, is there anything else I am missing? For planetary do I need anything for polar alignment and autoguiding?