•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Who do I trust - Cap or Cheshire?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 dark_night

dark_night

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bangalore, India

Posted 01 March 2021 - 11:30 PM

I am new to the basics and have a 8" F5.9 Newtonian reflector. Till now i had been using the collimation cap which came with the scope to collimate. Not that I got good at it, but I got comfortable enough based on what I saw through the pin hole and star test that my scope is in decent state.

But then ... I got a long 1.25" metal cheshire with a cross hair. The view through the Cheshire seems completly wrong and the secondary does not seem circular and rather an oval and I don't even see the 3 primary clips. Don't think it's due to the focuser slop because I tried moving the chesier which does not change things much.

Now I don't know if I should trust the cheshire and I have been doing something wrong and should look to adjust the secondary.

How do I know if either of the instruments is bad or damaged ?

Edited by dark_night, 01 March 2021 - 11:33 PM.

#2 mehdymo

mehdymo

Messenger

• Loc: Florida

Posted 01 March 2021 - 11:34 PM

Cheshire has an aluminum piece inside that has a hole to look through. Sometime that aluminum part is not coaxial with the body and gives wrong result. The best way to test it is to do a star test and see which one is more accurate. I guess the simple collimation cap is more accurate in your case.

#3 radiofm74

radiofm74

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Milano (Italy)

Posted 02 March 2021 - 06:06 AM

… but don't rule out the Cheshire just yet. True, they may be off, but the chances of your secondary not being well aligned are probably higher.