•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Trouble Finding Things in the Night SKy

Dob
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 CharlesDinger18

CharlesDinger18

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 March 2021 - 02:33 AM

Hi guys, new member here. I am an amateur astronomer and I am having a big struggle using my telescope and I do not know what the issue is. Here is what I have:

Telescope:

Dobsonion xt8

Lenses:

25mm plossl (came with scope)

Celestron 8-24mm zoom eyepiece

6mm 66° “gold line” planetary eyepiece

2x Barlow

I went out tonight for about 3 hours. Mars was out, but I couldnt get a decent view of it no matter what I tried, it just looked like an orange star but a bit brighter. I was kind of confused because I feel like I had the eyepieces and telescope to support seeing Mars but nothing I tried worked. I also tried to find Orion's Nebula, and I found something... but not what I was really expecting. I attached some low quality photos, one photo turned our slightly red and one blue for some reason? It seemed completely gray from what I saw but any advice would be amazing, I really need help with this. And also I dont really speak telescope or astronomy yet so easy language would be appreciated! Thank you!

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_0512.jpg
  • IMG_0511.jpg

#2 Waynosworld

Waynosworld

Viking 1

• Loc: Vancouver Washington

Posted 03 March 2021 - 02:50 AM

That is M42(Orion's Nebula), it appears to be a lot brighter where you are as i could barely see it as my seeing is terrible where I live and has been for a long time.

I tested my scope using my 10" Apertura AD10 against my 16" scope I built tonight, I was not impressed with what I could see.