•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Power for Astrophotography rig off grid

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 DG_Astro

DG_Astro

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 March 2021 - 04:57 AM

Hi,

I'm a newbie in astrophotography, and I would appreciate some guidance on this topic. This is my current equipment:

Mount: Celestron AVX

OTA: Celestron reflector 6'', 750 FD, f/5

Camera: Nikon D5500

Guide Camera: ZWO ASI120MC / 60mm guide scope

miniPC: Beelink Gemini M

Router: TP-Link AC750 (TL-WR902AC)

Power box: Pegasus Astro Pocket Powerbox Micro

At this point I have everything connected to the power box, it is very convenient that I can modify the voltage of every outlet of the powerbox though software, hence I can have my DSLR connected with 9V, the router connected with 5V and the mount and the mini pc at 12V, right now my consumption should no be higher than 12v 6amp (directly to the powerbox), but considering future purchases of the focuser, CCD camera, filter wheel, dew heather etc I will easily reach the 12v 10 amps that the power box is able to deliver. Now it comes the question, what would be the best approach to deliver 12V 10 amps through the night in the middle of nowhere?

I have seen two options:

• Lithium batteries, for example:
    • Orion Dynamo Pro
    • Celestron PowerTank Lithium Pro
    • etc

Comments: These are more expensive, I do not know about how long the charge will last depending on the capacity, and also are not available in my country right now (Chile)

Comments: cheaper option, provides enough energy to work though the nigh, and there are some consideration on not draining the battery entirely, fully charge it every time, use it every 3 months or so, etc.

I would like to read your experience and how are you powering your rig off grid.

Thanks in advanced.

#2 NoDarkSkies