•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Buying ADVICE appreciated for a newbie...

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Miyamo

Miyamo

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Mid Atlantic

Posted 03 March 2021 - 01:04 PM

Well, I am new to telescopes and astronomy, so this is my journey thus far.

Beginning a couple of months ago I have been frustrated in my attempt to buy my first telescope as all the vendors seem to be on back order and delay, delay, delay. I have already ordered 5 different scopes but the more I read and research the more unsure of what to buy so I keep cancelling my orders. At this point I have probably spent some 50+ hours reading, researching specs, and watching youtube videos…but still have yet to own a scope. :(

I do own “Turn Left at Orion”, own “SkySafari” on both my laptop and iPhone, and a pair of quality 12x60 binoculars.

I was going to just get an Orion AstroView 90mm Refractor ($350) as it is basic without costing much with good reviews… and knowing I would upgrade to something better in a year or two. But I changed my mind again.

My strategy for the moment is to get an Orion Starmax 127mm Maksutov with EQ mount ($600), Orion 1.25 Lenses accessory Kit ($99), a planisphere, and dew shield ($50) hoping this will be pretty good quality to last me indefinitely for general usage.