•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Weight of scope, mount and tripod for portability

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 mondo1948

mondo1948

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Westbrook, Connecticut

Posted 03 March 2021 - 02:47 PM

Hello,

I'm new to astronomy and have just purchased a refractor telescope that weighs 10 lbs.  I have also ordered a mount that weighs 5 lbs, and now it's time to order a tripod.  The only wooden tripod (I don't want aluminum) I can find, that is available right now, is a Berlebach Uni 28 that weighs 20 lbs.  The lighter weight Berlebach that I really wanted to order is 10 lbs., but is out-of-stock everywhere.  So while I am strong enough to lift 35 lbs., I've never tried moving a telescope on its mount and tripod.  Will it be too awkward to move this set-up around my yard to find sky between the abundant oak trees that I have to deal with.  I guess what I'm asking is whether grab-and-go is not applying here?

Thanks,

Mondo

Edited by mondo1948, 03 March 2021 - 06:15 PM.

• aeajr likes this

#2 photoracer18

photoracer18

Skylab

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 03 March 2021 - 03:04 PM

Depending on finances if it was me and I was staying in my own yard I would get either a JMI Wheelie Bar or a Scope Buggy, put everything on it and just roll it around to where I want. I have owned both and used them. If you are going to be using it on grass then the JMI needs the 5" wheel conversion kit while the Scope Buggy is fine like it is as it has pneumatic tires. I also believe in taking the scope off when moving the rig just to be safe. Unless its way too heavy. I have rolled C9.25s and 6" F15 refractors around that way. The standard JMI wheels are only good if you are keeping the rig on a hard flat surface as in rolling it out of the garage onto the driveway.