•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Meade LX 85 set up and alignment

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Julio Lautersztain

Julio Lautersztain

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 March 2021 - 03:01 PM

Hello everybody . I am a VERY new amateur astronomer. Located in Pucon in the south of Chile , with beautiful skies and very low light pollution.

I bought an LX 85 because of the promise of the Audiostar GoTo feature.

The scope was set up in an open field on a post specially built for it. Extremely well balanced. The polarization to the true south pole was done and is within the published parameters for the degree difference between magnetic and true south pole(5.7 degrees).

The latitude on the equatorial mount was set at 39 degrees for Pucon . The time was set at -3.0 GMT per the published parameter for Pucon.

My problem is that the aiming of the Audiostar software is way off and by as much as 30 degrees from the confirmed visual or the Stellaris app. It is the same problem whether I enter daylight savings or not in the set up.

What is interesting is that if I accept the aiming  in the easy align of Audiostar for the two stars even it clearly off, the software will indicate successful alignment . And after that it cannot even find the moon.

In the set up the site input for Chile only contains the capital Santiago as an option. So I tried both that input and alternatively adding Pucon with latitude and longitude with no improvement . Actually the menu option of the capital Santiago was a little better and slightly closer to the target but still way off.

So I do not know what to expect from Go To on Audiostar. Is a 20-30 degree variance from the target all I can expect and then adjust manually best I can.