•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Syncscan doesn't recognise planets

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Vilmos93

Vilmos93

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 March 2021 - 04:30 PM

Hi!

I am a beginner user of a 250/1200 with a goto mount.
My problem is when I search for example a deep sky object, M42 or M31 it works perfectly! but when I search for planets, I searched Mars for example, The warning says: object is under the horizon. I tried with Uranus too. But these are over the horizon, I was so confused I even checked them on Stellarium.
I don't know why only planets can not be shown.

Thank you for the replies!

Edited by Vilmos93, 03 March 2021 - 04:44 PM.

#2 sg6

sg6

Voyager 1

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 03 March 2021 - 04:48 PM

Need to know where you are, as the position of something like a planet is dependant on your location.

I guess you are talking of a 250 goto dobsonian - again what is the mount+scope?

And what time were you trying to find Mars?

Mars could well have been below the horizon. And the scope has more sense then to aim at the ground.

There could also be a minimum Alt setting like 20 degrees. So in effect anything below 20 degrees is considered "below the horizon".

As it says they are under the horizon then Synscan is recognising planets, what it is saying is that they are unobservable or it thinks they are.

• maroubra_boy and sevenofnine like this

#3 maroubra_boy

maroubra_boy

Vendor - Gondwana Telescopes

• -----
  • Vendors
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 03 March 2021 - 04:49 PM