•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

FFFR or FF + FR?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 aroughroad

aroughroad

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 March 2021 - 08:35 PM

Newbie here looking for some guidance on my optical train for best imaging results...

I am about to purchase an ES 127mm F/7.5 scope.  My instinct is to purchase a field flattener and focal reducer as separate items.  The logic is that different targets will be better framed with a 0.7x reducer, a 0.8x reducer, no reducer, or an extender!  But you want a field flattener in every case.  So, bundling the FF and the FR together into one item limits you to only one reducer (to say nothing of focal extenders/barlows!)

And yet, almost everyone seems to sell them / use them as one bundled item.  What gives?  Could someone shed some light on the best way to maximize flexibility on one's FOV so as to maximize the number of potential targets?  Do people just swap out different reducers/barlows to optimize the FOV based on the target?  And doesn't doing that necessitate having the FF and FR as separate items?

Next, is there a brand of FF/FRs considered to be the best?  I have read it's generally best to stick with the brand of your scope (Explore Scientific, in my case), but I'm not sure about that, and I don't think ES even offers anything except an 0.7x reducer (no 0.8x).

Finally, FFFRs connect to the focuser, correct?  I was planning on not using the focuser that comes with my scope and purchasing a better one separately (such as moonlite?), so any guidance on making sure the FFFR and focuser are compatible is appreciated!

#2 Astrola72

Astrola72

Viking 1

• Loc: Maryland, USA

Posted 03 March 2021 - 09:25 PM