•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

3-4 more months to wait - or pivot?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 sigo24

sigo24

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 March 2021 - 05:29 PM

I ordered the ES ED80 FCD100 Feb. 7th and just got an email saying it should arrive at the warehouse in June. What would you do? 

Bottom line: I'm a beginner and need better optics than my Canon 24-240mm that I had for personal daytime use. I don't want to wait until June. I've tried a few sites, but am I not aware of a vendor that may have it sooner? Should I consider a different scope at this point? Am I just not informed it could take months even this far into COVID? I'm open to options, but not sure I want to go much higher in cost. 

My quick equipment situation / experience.

EQ6-R as of a few weeks ago. Been practicing ever since with my EOS RP + 240mm + Astronomik CLS filter. Prior to this I just had an Astromaster AZ 70.... I've been able to capture acceptable images, but obviously limited by my focal length and lens quality.

Thank you for your opinions in advance!

Edited by sigo24, 04 March 2021 - 07:13 PM.

• scotsman328i likes this

#2 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 04 March 2021 - 05:43 PM

Have you looked at other 80mm triplets, e.g the Astro-Tech AT80EDT? Check with Astronomics to see if they expect the next shipment within 3 months, but you may be faced with a wait wherever you go.

Also, you may be happy with a good FPL-53 ED doublet, depending on your needs. That may open you up to more scopes -  I'm happy with the AT72EDII.

• Jon Isaacs, scotsman328i and dswtan like this

#3 sigo24

sigo24

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 March 2021 - 06:07 PM