•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

how far can you go using a photography kit for astrophotography?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ma_khan

ma_khan

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 March 2021 - 11:37 AM

orion_nebula.jpg

I am a beginner and currently working on my next steps. Took the above image yesterday from bortle 9 skies using iOptron sky tracker, canon EOS 6D markii and canon 70-200 f/2.8.

111 frames, each with 20s f/4 ISO 1600. Stacked with DSS and processed in Photoshop. No Filters. 

I am trying to understand what the reach is with the equipment I am working with. I had disappointing results shooting farther\fainter objects and that's understandable. 

I am looking for feedback on the image and what you can observe both in terms of processing and acquisition. I am also looking for targets you think my equipment will be able to handle. I was thinking pleiades? Anything else that might work?

#2 randcpoll

randcpoll

Messenger

• Loc: New York

Posted 05 March 2021 - 12:06 PM

It depends on how good a polar alignment you can get with your star tracker. I use the Skywatcher Star Adventurer and can go 2 minutes with a 300mm lens. With your 6D ii those exposures will expand your capabilities to most of the brighter deep sky objects and to nearly all but the smallest/faintest of star clusters and galaxies.

#3 ma_khan

ma_khan

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 March 2021 - 12:12 PM

Thanks! That gives me hope. I am able to go longer, but I haven't been doing so because of the amount of light pollution I have to deal with. Anything more than 30 secs and images are just whitewashed by light pollution. I haven't been able to find a clip in filter for Canon 6D Mark ii. Apparently, its difficult to make for this full frame sensor type or something like that. 

#4 Islander13

Islander13