•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Misaligned filters in the EFW?

• Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Surveyor 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: NJ, US

Posted 05 March 2021 - 09:56 PM

So, tonight's my first night with the new 294MM and 8 position EFW with the Antlia 1.25" LRGBSHO filters. I got an hour of Ha on the Rosette and 5 minutes of O3... but trees got in the way. So, I decided to slew back east to try some LRGB on the Leo triplet.

When I took a test exposure with the L filter, I got this:

gallery_347158_15202_1208457.png

I didn't see this effect on either the Ha or O3 filter... cycling through the other filters and I can sort of see it on a couple of them.

I've never used filters or a filter wheel before, so I am unsure how to address this issue. I tried using the "Recalibrate" function in the EFW ASCOM panel, but that didn't seem to have an effect. I also tried using the "unidirectional" method... cycled through filters, then back to L... same thing. Tried recalibrating again after switching to unidirectional. Same thing.

Ideas?

Thanks!

PS - mods, if this belongs in the equipment forum, please don't hesitate to move it there.

#2 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 05 March 2021 - 10:29 PM

Is this just normal vignetting, but exacerbated because of NINA's autostretch? Something not quite centered properly? I'm back to being the complete newbie again smile.gif

Edited by jonnybravo0311, 05 March 2021 - 10:29 PM.

#3 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 06 March 2021 - 01:50 PM