•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with Moon imaging rig choices please

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 mayhem13

mayhem13

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 March 2021 - 10:00 AM

So I’ve started my AP journey and not ready to share any images yet as I’m still in learning mode and the weather here in the NE US hasn’t been great.....but that’s changing fast!!!!. For deep sky, I’m working with a Canon T7i APS-c and various lenses 18mm,50mm,200mm. My mount is an iOptron 3200eq Pro and the weight cap is 10lbs. My observing scope is a 12” Dobsonian. The question is

1.Get a dedicated Astronomy camera for the Dobsonian.....the ZWO ASI 178 would require a Mosaic approach......of which I have zero experience! Lol

2. Get a small 90-127mm Cass and Mount it to my Canon on the mount. I’ll be at 6.5lbs all in. Preowned the cheapest option

3. The most expensive option....a 400mm F4 prime lens and crop. 

4. A refractor scope and Barlow using my DSLR but it would have to be small to work with my mount......72mm and I’d need a 2x Barlow.

The goal here here is for really nice frame able prints 11x16 of the moon in various stages.

Thanks in advance

Edited by mayhem13, 08 March 2021 - 10:44 AM.

#2 SeymoreStars

SeymoreStars

Gemini

• Loc: Pennsyltucky

Posted 08 March 2021 - 10:12 AM

Number 1.

Not number 2.

Definitely not number 3.

• happylimpet and Stellar1 like this

#3 SeymoreStars

SeymoreStars

Gemini

Posted 08 March 2021 - 10:16 AM

I don't like the Moon through my Canon DSLR's (6D, 5DM4,7D). You will need a UV cut filter with the ASI178, it's Protect window is an IR-CUT window.

To be more accurate I am referring to an ASI178 MONO camera.

#4 SeymoreStars

SeymoreStars

Gemini

Posted 08 March 2021 - 10:22 AM