•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8SE image jitter doing AP

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 timm2021

timm2021

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 March 2021 - 02:09 PM

I am an AP beginner and spent last night photographing the Orion Nebula using a stock 8SE with a focus reducer lens (F/6.3) and a Sony A6300. I aligned with SkyPortal on Mars, Betelgeuse, and Rigel, did GOTO back to Betelgeuse and update alignment, GOTO to Alnitak, add alignment, and GOTO Orion Nebula and add alignment. I put the camera on a timer of 20 second exposures at ISO 400 starting an exposure at 25 second intervals with 50 such exposures. Over the span of this 50 x 25 seconds the nebula drifted a little under a third of the FOV, some times down and left and sometime down and right (visually). (I use UP and RIGHT to align following the instructions in Michael Swanson's book.)

I assume this amount of drift while far from perfect is pretty standard for this equipment. Doing visual observing I would probably not notice it.

The big problem is that while stars are round in less than half the shots, they are varying degrees of oblong in the rest. So finally my question is whether this is just the limits of my equipment. Because I used a timer I never touched anything, and there wasn't much wind. I set up on asphalt as I had vibration problems on the deck. Is there a variability to the tracking or can this mount just not do better?

Thanks. 

#2 coinboy1

coinboy1

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Tulsa, OK

Posted 08 March 2021 - 02:21 PM