•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Optolong Pro and LED light Pollution

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Marsman304

Marsman304

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 March 2021 - 02:40 AM

Newbie here.  I read so much about how good the Optolong filters are.  I am in a Class 8 Bortle city.  I have been told by my local photography shop that the L-Pro will not make a difference in my city due to the heavy use of LED street lighting.  Can anybody verify this?  I seem to read a lot about people saying it works great for light pollution.  What is never clarified is whether it is LED lighting or Sodium lighting or some other type.  Any Help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

#2 imtl

imtl

Gemini

• Loc: Down in a hole

Posted 09 March 2021 - 02:50 AM

It's worthless. LED is broadband emission source.

• CoHPhasor and Marsman304 like this

#3 CoHPhasor

CoHPhasor

Messenger

• Loc: San Francisco, CA

Posted 09 March 2021 - 02:51 AM

Filters like the pro, enhance, and extreme attenuate specific light wavelengths. (filters them out altogether)

Different lights are showering the sky at different wavelengths.
Which those are, for LED streetlights, I do not know.

What I can say for certain, is the usage of said filters depends on what targets you want to image.
("broadband" targets like galaxies are putting out lights out many frequencies and your images take a hit)
  • Marsman304 likes this

#4 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 09 March 2021 - 03:10 AM

It's completely target dependent.  These filters do not magically know what light pollution is, the take a whack at it by blocking certain colors and letting others through.  The idea is that what they block is hopefully light pollution, and what they pass is target signal.