•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Thoughts on Skywatcher 120 AZ3

• Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 MikeTahtib

MikeTahtib

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 20 March 2021 - 10:39 AM

My current scopes are bulky and weigh over 65 pounds each, and are a bit of a chore to take out for a quick observing session.  My 15x70 binos don't really show a lot of detail.  I'm looking for something to fill the gap, and the Skywatcher 120 f5 achro seems like it might fit the bill.  But I have no experience with this size scope.  I'm hoping it will be light enough and compact enough compared to what I have now to be an easy setup, and offer a wide field of view for things like the Andromeda Galaxy and the Double Cluster.  Will I be able to see any detail?  For example, in my binos and 60mm RACI, I can see that M13 is a fuzzy ball, but can't really see it as a big ball of stars. Will CA be a lot worse than in my 60mm Stellarvue RACI? I don't find that objectionable at all.  I really have to look for it, and I'm not even sure I see it.  It comes with a 1.25" 45* diagonal.  Can I just replace that with a 2"90* and use my big eyepieces?  And finally, how fussy is it about balance?

#2 Supernova74

Supernova74

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 20 March 2021 - 11:28 AM