•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Large SCTs, how portable

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 May 2004 - 10:25 AM

Hi,
I'm new to this (excellent) forum so excuse me for asking a question that I'm sure has been posed before.
I'm contemplating buying a Meade 16" SCT, either with the Meade or the appropriate Losmandy mount. I cannot as yet mount the scope permanently so will be carrying it to and from the garage. To aid this would wheelie bars be a help? It's a hard surface drive with gravel in places; how will the wheels run - I think I've seen the bars with large wheels advertised - has anybody used these, do they help or not.
Sorry if this is simple stuff but I need to ask it anyway.
Steve

#2 Don W

Don W

demi-god

• Administrators

Posted 09 May 2004 - 10:56 AM

Egads, have you calculated the weight of the individual parts? That 16" is a monster. You'll definitely need something larger than the Losmandy G-11. And no, no one has asked this question before.

#3 bierbelly

bierbelly

Voyager 1

Posted 09 May 2004 - 11:07 AM

Probably the larger and softer the wheels, the better off you'll be. For example, consider a wheel barrow, with a pneumatic tire. It'll go over some pretty rough terrain without much problem, but hard rubber wheels will probably create problems.

#4 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

Refractor wienie no more

• Administrators

Posted 09 May 2004 - 11:11 AM

Oh, yeah. That OTA goes over 100 pounds; it'd take a heckuva GEM to carry it. With counterweights and all you'd be in the 400 pound weight class - better get some really big wheels! I think the forkmount goes around 275 pounds; still not very portable.

#5 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----