•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

100Q/100SVQ Chromatic Aberration

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Poynting

Poynting

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Antonio, TX

Posted 08 April 2021 - 02:11 PM

Hello,

I recently purchased a used TS-100Q scope. I had first light last night and noticed quite large bloating in my blue channel, using an ASI2600MC. Is this normal for such a scope? Any experiences appreciated, as I am kind of new to large refractors for imaging. It is a quadruplet with a supposed FPL-53 element.

gallery_207995_321_49607.jpg

#2 Der_Pit

Der_Pit

Vanguard

• Loc: La Palma

Posted 08 April 2021 - 03:35 PM

Yes, refractors and blue/UV don't go together well.  Refractive index - and thus also focus -  changes fast there.  So a UV cutoff filter is highly recommended, and best one with a higher blue cutoff.  I'd use something like an Astronomik L2 or L3 filter, as I don't have light pollution, maybe others can recommend specific LP filters with higher blue cutoff if that is an issue for you.

• Poynting likes this

#3 Poynting

Poynting

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 08 April 2021 - 04:20 PM

Yes, refractors and blue/UV don't go together well.  Refractive index - and thus also focus -  changes fast there.  So a UV cutoff filter is highly recommended, and best one with a higher blue cutoff.  I'd use something like an Astronomik L2 or L3 filter, as I don't have light pollution, maybe others can recommend specific LP filters with higher blue cutoff if that is an issue for you.

Wow, I had no idea I would need one of those. I thought my ASI2600 had a sufficient filter on the window, but perhaps that is only effective for IR Cut.

#4 Der_Pit

Der_Pit

Vanguard

• Loc: La Palma

Posted 08 April 2021 - 04:35 PM