•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Dss isn't stacking when adding calibration frames

Beginner Astrophotography Software
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Idkwhatsgoingon

Idkwhatsgoingon

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 April 2021 - 01:52 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to astrophotography and astronomy as a while and I've been starting to have issues. I took images of m81 yesterday and after adding all of the images and the calibration frames to dss it says that only one frame will be stacked.

If I leave out the calibration frames then it lets me stack but the final result is completely white and no amount of stretching does anything.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

#2 Reece

Reece

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 10 April 2021 - 02:05 PM

Have you tried reloading the default DeepSkyStacker settings? I have problems with DSS sometimes however this has always fixed them. On my version of DSS, this is done by going to the Options menu, clicking "Load" and then clicking "Restore Default Settings". As a last resort, you could try deleting the DSS application and reinstalling it. You will of course have to re-enter any changes you have made to the default settings if you follow any of these suggestions. Hope this helps!

Edited by Reece, 10 April 2021 - 02:06 PM.

#3 rj144

rj144

Messenger

• -----

Posted 10 April 2021 - 02:08 PM

Are you loading everything correctly?  Flats as flats, darks as darks, etc...?

• Stelios likes this

#4 StarBurger

StarBurger

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: North Country NY

Posted 10 April 2021 - 02:13 PM

We need a little more info here such as equipment used , camera, exp times, # of exposures etc. 

An image of at least one raw sub frame will help, otherwise we are all guessing.

• Mike in Rancho likes this

#5 Mike in Rancho

Mike in Rancho

Viking 1

• -----