•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Filters for Galaxies

Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Orion 3

Orion 3

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Long Island, NY

Posted 10 April 2021 - 10:34 PM

Hi all, I'm relatively new to astronomy and I have been using my new Orion Goto Star Seeker IV 150mm (f/5) reflector since this past Christmas to view the stars,  the Orion Nebula, Mars, the Moon and M31, M81, and M82 galaxies. I would like to see the galaxies better and wondering if there are any filters that could help. I was looking at the Lumicon UHC and the Orion Ultrablock filters, trying to keep the cost under $100. I'm using a 25mm plossl and the Orion 7.2-21 zoom. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

#2 Gschnettler

Gschnettler

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Cincinnati Ohio

Posted 10 April 2021 - 10:55 PM

I’m not aware of any filters that would help with galaxies other than maybe a light pollution filter in a light polluted area.

Since the stars in galaxies emit broadband light, any filter you choose would also reduce the light from the galaxy, thus making it even dimmer.

I believe the best options to see galaxies better are (a) to travel to dark sites and make sure your eyes are night adapted and you’re using averted vision, (b) night vision equipment or © EAA.

I struggle with it too. Looking forward to opinions from others on this topic,
  • sevenofnine, radiofm74 and Orion 3 like this

#3 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Cosmos

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 10 April 2021 - 10:58 PM

Filters don't help on galaxies; only darker skies and bigger scopes will achieve that. This recent thread addresses it from the imaging perspective, but the conclusion is the same... even more grim for visual. Light pollution absolutely kills galaxies.     Tom

https://www.cloudyni...es-in-the-city/