•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Unable to focus camera with flip mirror

EAA
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Psionmark

Psionmark

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2021 - 06:30 AM

Hi all.

I purchased a flip mirror as it seems a good idea being able to switch easily between the eyepiece and the camera. However, I’m unable to focus the camera when it’s in the flip mirror.

I’ve experimented during the day and it seems the camera (SV305) is too far out to be able to focus.

I’m still a newbie in this game so please excuse beginner gaffs but do I need a focal reducer to be able to achieve focus? Or some other gizmo?

#2 StarBurger

StarBurger

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: North Country NY

Posted 11 April 2021 - 07:09 AM

I had exactly this problem with my first flip mirror. It pushed the camera too far back to reach focus. 

I did fix it by carefully taking measurements to see that it needed much lower profile adapters both front and back of the flip. Luckily I had some on hand.

Even after, the focus tube only had about 5 mm remaining before bottoming inwards to play with.

Your flip and focus tube are probably not the ones I have (Astromania flip on an SW ED 80) so I can't say precisely what you will need.

A FR may work but I would be reluctant to limit your options in this way.

Actually, thinking about it, you may need a focal extender rather than reducer, an even worse combination.

• happylimpet and Psionmark like this

#3 Visit-the-Moon

Visit-the-Moon

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 11 April 2021 - 07:41 AM