•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Maximizing solar imaging with current equipment.

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Borodog

Borodog

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 April 2021 - 09:20 PM

Hello. I'm very new to solar imaging and have many dumb questions, some of which have already been kindly answered by posters here. I'll keep this brief. I am what I would call an intermediate planetary and lunar imager and processor. I am familiar with capturing (I use SharpCap Pro), stacking (I use Autostakkert), creating mosaics (I use ICE), basic processing (usually limited to resizing, deconvolution, sometimes denoising, color correction, curves & gamma, suplementary sharpening, etc. in Astra Image) for both planetary and lunar. I'm familiar with the taking and use of calibration frames, and thanks to members here I now know how to shoot flats for solar.

My equipment for solar is ill-suited for the task, I know, but it is what I have and I don't really have the budget to produce the kind of spectacular images I see others posting here. But I would like to know where I should set my expectations so that I'll know when there is something amiss and I can improve on vs. when there is just something that is beyond the capability of my equipment. So, without further ado, my equipment for solar is:

1) 1977 orange tube Celestron C90. It is a very old scope and they often seem to get a bad rap, but it is in good condition and seems capable of producing decent images of objects in the sky that are about the angular diameter of the Sun: https://www.cloudyni...6100_558881.png

2) Thousand Oaks solar filter.