•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How would you take a picture of/frame the following objects: Heart Nebula, M33, M43, M3, M13, M51, M63?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 thornhale

thornhale

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 April 2021 - 12:18 AM

The purpose of this question is 2-fold.

1.) The list of objects above is chosen on purpose to be very varied. The heart nebula is very wide and faint, M33 (Andromeda's Galaxy) is 6 times the size of the moon. On the other hand, M3, and M13 and more tight globular clusters. For visual astronomy it's said that one needs at least a 200mm telescope to resolve the stars. Lastly, we have M51, and M63 which are galaxies that become smaller and smaller with distance.  As a beginner, I would like to learn from more experienced people how they would frame the objects above, i.e.: learn what equipment they would use so I can take better pictures as well.