•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Guiding Failures and Camera Disconnects

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 bjulihn

bjulihn

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Langley, BC. Canada

Posted 13 April 2021 - 01:05 AM

Hi All;

Looking for Troubleshooting Suggestions. Last night I set up my iOptron iEQ30 pro mount, with ASI071 Pro C imaging camera and ASI120mm mini guide camera. I use NINA for imaging and PHD2 ver 2.69.4 for guiding. I have a mini pc on the scope and all connections are through a USB hub. I manage imaging on my laptop in the house over WIFI with Teamviewer. This has worked fine until last night. The one major change in this setup is that I sold my QHY 183C camera and replaced it with the ASI071 camera.

I got up and running including guiding when I got an error message on PHD2 saying the camera had disconnected. I reconnected and restarted guiding. From this point on it would not correct or even successfully calibrate because the RA axis would not accept corrections or  move during calibration. Since only RA was stuck, thought cables. I shut down the mount reconnected all cables and switched the mount cables between the dec axis and the hand controller. No change in behavior on restart. I bailed and went to bed.

Today, I setup again in the same way. I ran "guiding assistant" to test guide setting. Everything worked fine including guiding. Then . . . PHD2 gave me a camera disconnect error and NINA started giving me failed to download image errors. I reconnected PHD2 and again, no movement in RA and thus calibration failed! I disconnected the USB hub and plugged it back in and then reconnected all devices. No change!