Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

AP keypad button not responding

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 muller

muller

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2017

Posted 13 April 2021 - 05:41 AM

Hi,

I am posting here because I have a wonderful AP MachOne mount (CP3GTO), but now having a problem with the keypad: one button, for slewing in declination (S), is not working properly. After some long period (days) of not using the mount and keypad, pushing the button does not give any response, and there is no way to slew in that direction. Other three buttons are always working.

It is only after I twist the keypad quite heavily in some ways, that I manage to get it back working.

So, I am thinking of some problems of connection inside the keypad. Unfortunately, it looks pretty complicated inside ...

Wanted to know if this problem also occurred to some of you, and what would be best to do: order a new one, try to get a fix from AP, or switch to a new control system of the mount ?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions !



#2 Bean614

Bean614

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,872
  • Joined: 05 Nov 2015
  • Loc: Mass.

Posted 13 April 2021 - 05:49 AM

DeOxit contact cleaner (for the pads too) is your friend.



#3 WadeH237

WadeH237

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7,054
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Ellensburg, WA

Posted 13 April 2021 - 08:30 AM

That sounds like a faulty connection problem.  Perhaps the keypad cable needs to be replaced.

 

You should contact Astro-Physics directly.  They will take care of you.



#4 jdupton

jdupton

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,279
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Central Texas, USA

Posted 13 April 2021 - 08:48 AM

muller,

 

So, I am thinking of some problems of connection inside the keypad. Unfortunately, it looks pretty complicated inside ...

Wanted to know if this problem also occurred to some of you, and what would be best to do: order a new one, try to get a fix from AP, or switch to a new control system of the mount ?

   This is probably a job for Astro-Physics to handle. It sounds like you may have opened up the back already and had a look inside. It is indeed quite complicated. Give AP a call and see if there is anything a user can try. They can also give you an estimate of the cost to clean and refurbish the KeyPad.

 

 

Bean614,

 

DeOxit contact cleaner (for the pads too) is your friend.

   This is really a bad idea. I expect that you have never seen the inside of the AP KeyPad. It is pretty difficult to get to the switches in the first place. (I don't even know for sure whether they are even a membrane type switch.) There are bundles of optical fibers in the KeyPad that complicate getting to things and I cannot imagine the damage that might be done by randomly spraying a contact cleaner into the assembly.

 

   To get an idea of what you face once the device is opened up, see the KeyPad Maintenance  Manual document on the AP Website.

 

   I agree with Wade, just call AP and see what they say...

 

 

John


Edited by jdupton, 13 April 2021 - 08:50 AM.


#5 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

    World Controller

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 122,469
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 13 April 2021 - 12:48 PM

Agree with the above suggestion to call or email A-P. They are very responsive to phone calls in my experience.



#6 andysea

andysea

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,730
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 13 April 2021 - 02:13 PM

Yes call AP. The keypad on my 900 is a bit temperamental too. I believe the connections are fiber optics. AP can service it.

#7 Christopher Erickson

Christopher Erickson

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,865
  • Joined: 08 May 2006
  • Loc: Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

Posted 13 April 2021 - 05:27 PM

AP hand controllers use fiber optics (light pipes) to illuminate the buttons but not for communications inside the unit.

 

This is not a cable issue. The coiled cable from the hand controller to the CP2/CP3/CP4/CP5 is RS-232. The information from all buttons and the controller itself all travel in the same transmit wire in the coiled cable.

 

This is a button contact issue. It is possible that a Q-tip can clean the button contact inside the controller. Depending on your electronics skills, it might be best for AP to deal with it.


  • jdupton likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics