•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mounts to handle my ultra heavy set up?

Astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ArandomPilot

ArandomPilot

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Winter Park, Colorado

Posted 13 April 2021 - 03:28 PM

I the market for my second and final telescope mount. My new camera arrived (SBIG STL-11000M) so I plan on putting it to good use with a Celestron Edge HD 9.25". The whole set up will use an OAG (since internal guide chip doesn't work). All and all, the whole set up, with extension tubes and everything, should weigh about 28lbs (21lbs for OTA, 5.25 lbs for camera with all 5 filters used, 2.75lbs for OAG and extension tubes). So I'm on the look out for used mounts old and new to handle the imaging equipment. I won't have the funds for such a mount until late June since I work part time as a Junior in high school.  

Recommendations for a fairly cheap mount ($2,000 range) that will handle this set up with ease. These are the mount's I'm thinking about purchasing:

Sky Watcher EQ-6R Pro: When all is installed, I will still be 15lbs under capacity for this telescope, of course then the counterweights might be it's ultimate downfall. 

Celestron CGEM Pro II: 14lbs under capacity when installed, concerns with the counterweights on the motors, same as EQ-6R pro.

Celestron CGX: Will be about 25lbs under capacity, but will be at the max of my budget. 

Celestron CGE: Will be 30lbs under capacity, the cheapest and oldest mount, but few can be found on CN. 

Those are the mounts I am looking at as of right now. I am open to other mount suggestions.

Thanks!

#2 DSOs4Me

DSOs4Me

Viking 1

• Loc: South Jersey

Posted 13 April 2021 - 03:59 PM

I run a CGEM-DX with around 40lbs with no problems.  I have seen a couple pop up here recently.

#3 AstroBrett

AstroBrett

Ranger 4