•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Stacking lights from different cameras

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 physics23

physics23

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 14 April 2021 - 11:13 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to astrophotography, and I began with a 450D, and immediately after moved to a 550D DSLR. I'm imaging M81-82 (with a zoom lens) and now I have half of the subs with one camera and half with the other one (I have calibration frames for each night).

It seems that deep sky stacker cannot stack them together because of the different size (12Mp for the 450D, 18Mp for the 550d). Is there a stacking software where I can do this? For example, does Siril allow me to do this? And if I have to upscale/downscale, which one of the two is better?

Thanks!

Stefano

#2 DubbelDerp

DubbelDerp

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Posted 14 April 2021 - 11:39 AM

I do this fairly regularly in Astro Pixel Processor with a Canon 500D and 600D. It's not freeware, but is very capable and has a very robust registration model. I'm a bit surprised that DSS doesn't do this. If you want to give APP a try, you can download a free trial version.

• limeyx likes this

#3 the Elf

the Elf

Soyuz

• Loc: Germany

Posted 14 April 2021 - 02:17 PM

PixInsight does the job. How many subs have you got?

#4 PhilHoyle

PhilHoyle

Ranger 4

Posted 27 April 2021 - 12:24 PM

You need to calibrate each night separately (using darks, flats and bias or flat darks) no matter what the software.  You can't expect the calibration routine to correct for hot pixels in both cameras unless they have the exact same hot pixels which is a virtual impossibility.