•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New scope options for this summer?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 acshaw80

acshaw80

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 April 2021 - 04:21 PM

My dad has a Celestron EdgeHD 8" with star sense that we have used together a bit, and I finally thought maybe i'd like to get myself one.  Low and behold I have encountered what I am sure you have all been talking about for some time in that there is a lot of equipment on extended backorder.  Some websites are saying don't expect it until winter.

My question for you guys is are there any other scopes I should be considering that might be available sooner?  I think my first choice would have been a 9.25 EdgeHD with starsense.  I am a bit of a noob as I haven't really owned a telescope myself, but I am a both feet forward kind of person and want to get something that will keep me happy for years.

I'm mainly interested in looking at DSOs with perhaps some light planetary/lunar viewing.  I also want to minimize my setup and alignment time which is why i like star sense.  Just not really sure what good options there may be out there in time for the summer. I have noticed, for example, that some of the Vixen Optics telescopes are still in stock, but I am not familiar with this brand or how well their goto works or how easy it is to align the scope.

Note: I have been browsing the classifields on cloudy night and astro mart and haven't seen much in the way of what I originally wanted.  

I apologize for the noobie post, but do appreciate any insight anyone might have.  Just to clarify I am looking for:

-A mirror size in the range of 8-11"

-Easy to align

-Good goto

-budget of $2500-$5000  

#2 Augustus

Augustus

Fly Me To The Moon

• Loc: Stamford, Connecticut

Posted 14 April 2021 - 04:52 PM