•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Want a consumer telecope in orbit?

Imaging Observatory Observing
  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 nholden

nholden

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 April 2021 - 01:15 PM

Hi Astronomers,

I’m a Space Systems Engineering masters student preparing for my final capstone project. A topic I’m considering is exploring the viability of putting a consumer telescope in space. However, I’m an engineering student and not an astronomer, so the question I have is, would you want it?

My current working assumptions are:
Small <15kg telescope, otherwise launch costs are too expensive.
Accessible to anyone, you could rent time on the telescope.
Probably only capable of still images, but as I research more it might be possible to stream live video, would this be of value?

Love to hear your thoughts, is this worth exploring? Is there any value in putting a small telescope in space? Any obvious problems etc…?

Update: The 15kg number is just for the payload/telescope. I'l be using an off-the-shelf bus, and that will take care of all power, control and comms.

Thanks for your help!
Nick

Edited by nholden, 15 April 2021 - 02:55 PM.

#2 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 15 April 2021 - 01:20 PM

There are remote observing options on Earth at dark sites, so I would not personally be interested in access to a small scope in orbit ... unless I had close to 100% of its time. smile.gif

• Gen 1:16 and nholden like this

#3 P_Myers

P_Myers

Vendor (Optical Structures)

• -----
  • Vendors

Posted 15 April 2021 - 01:21 PM

Already in play with a company called Space Fab....

https://www.spacefab.us/about.html

Edited by P_Myers, 15 April 2021 - 01:22 PM.

• nholden likes this

#4 happylimpet

happylimpet

Fly Me to the Moon