•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Multipurpose guiding equipment options?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JG-42N

JG-42N

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Iowa

Posted 17 April 2021 - 12:11 AM

I'm a beginner thinking about trying guiding, but need to get as much use out of equipment as I can to justify it, so I need to find a reasonable compromise.  

What I have so far:

203mm / 800 mm FL scope and an APS-C DSLR with 4.3µm pixels.  I have a coma corrector and a 2.5X Barlow.  I'm using an Orion Sirius (EQ5) mount and can get decent polar alignment (still learning), but 30 to 60 seconds without the Barlow is about the limit so far.  I'd be happy to get to 2 or 3 reliably.

An ETX90 from way back that would be interesting to try for planets and the moon.

I have been using Backyard EOS for my camera so far, and have been reading up on PHD2 and NINA as that seems to be what I should be looking at next.

My location is Bortle 5 with a badly aimed sodium light about a half block away, but shaded directly by my garage.

I'm considering these:

ZWO178MC camera 2.4µm pixels:

Cons:

• A mono camera is better for guiding accuracy.
• A mono camera or larger pixels makes for higher sensitivity. 

Pros:

• It has smaller pixels than some others which gets me into a reasonable guiding ratio (Astrotools.com) when I Barlow the main scope out to 2000mm.
• It will work directly as a color camera for planetary use.  Smaller pixels help there too.

Astro-Tech AT60GS guide scope - 60mm / 240mm FL    This looks to be the same: Agena 60mm f/4 Precision Straight-Through Finder / Guide Scope with Helical Focuser

Cons:

• Heavier than smaller guide scopes.

Pros:

• Possibly could be used as wide field scope with the DLSR with no guiding. 
• Could be a decent, throw on a camera tripod grab and go for wide field visual.