•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

No color ASI294 MC Pro

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 hamel

hamel

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 April 2021 - 05:50 AM

I'm a total newb-obviously-from the question I have.

I have an ASI 294MC Pro and am beginning to get fairly good shots of different galaxies but before and after stacking they all are in black and white. I've read that they need to debayered to show color but I still get black and white images after doing that. I've played around with histograms and stretching with no luck. What do I need to do to bring out the color? Again sorry for such an idiot question.

#2 EdDixon

EdDixon

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Virginia

Posted 17 April 2021 - 06:39 AM

What capture software are you using?  ZWO software has a B/W option that reverts all to non color.  If you use the scope during the day and use live view, do you see color?

#3 GaryShaw

GaryShaw

Apollo

• Loc: Massachusetts / Wyoming

Posted 17 April 2021 - 07:42 AM

As Ed says, we need more information to help with this. Sharpcap takes care of debayering as well as color adjustments when you auto-stretch. It also provides several modes of color adjustment. Are you understanding and using these features?

Remember too that galaxies do not offer much color and often what you see in peoples images is false color. To really see the blueish star-forming areas or reddish Ha regions accurately, you need the right FOV and image scale to bring it out. Many AP folks who achieve colorful galaxy images are imaging with mono cameras, which can be more sensitive and have smaller image scales, and they are using a variety of broadband and narrowband filters for the subs which are processed after the fact to bring out the galactic structure and color.

Gary

• dswtan likes this

#4 hamel

hamel

Explorer 1