•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

auto guiding for beginners

Software
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 vivi

vivi

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 April 2021 - 07:46 PM

Hello, I am hoping that I am at the right place, because I really need help.

After couple of months of unguided astrophotography (I am a true beginner, learning on her own), I am stuck when trying to guide to do longer exposures, and I am about to loose it. I am hoping somebody can offer advice.

First, my EQUIPMENT:

• telescope: Sky watcher Evostar 100 ED
  • Mount: Skywatcher EQ35 pro
  • Camera: ZWO ASI 183GT
  • Guide camera: ZWO ASI 174 mini
  • Guider: ZWO OAG
  • connection is direct from ASI AIR pro to the mount with an ST4 cable, thus bypassing the Hand Controller.
  • Lately I have also tried an EQMod cable described to work both in Mac and Windows (and downloaded the driver, plus discovered the port)

second, my PROBLEM (I):

• I can take fairly good pics of DSOs with the above set up, but with the ASI AIR pro, and guiding with it I can get at most 120 sec frames, and the guiding is awful.
  • My dec is continuously oscillating in large steps (more than 4 arc/sec steps) plus drifting until I cannot longer see the trace. My DEC trace has fairly low oscillations, but again, it drifts, until disappearing from the graph. DEC and RA traces are orthogonal when I can see them both.
  • I have tried adjusting the aggressiveness (every time waiting about 50 readings before changing and the changes are small (5% at the time). I have settled at 25% for RA and 20% for DEC, although with this I still get wild oscillations in RA
  • I have tried to play with the guiding speed; 0.75 helps; longer exposures ( 5 sec as opposed to 2 sec) also seem to help, but not for long