•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Prioritizing equipment for absolute beginner

Astrophotography Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 kantseeanything

kantseeanything

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 April 2021 - 08:01 AM

Good morning, so after several years of contemplation, my son and I finally decided to give AP a try. After researching this site a bit, it seems the consensus was to purchase the best mount one can afford so I picked up an EQ6-R Pro yesterday. Now, I want to take things a bit more slowly and develop foundational knowledge while upgrading and adding to my equipment as it becomes financially feasible. My questions are:

- regarding prioritization, is it mount>camera>scope>guide scope?

- I have a basic Canon DSLR. Should I start with this or pick up a cheap color ZWO ASI?

- in either case above, what would be a good starting refractor or lense(<$400)?

- to save money, I was looking to buy used but have read about a few negative experiences. Are there best practices for due diligence in AP when buying used?

Also, I'm at a bortle 6, so there's that.

Thank you!
  • David I, Skysmacker and Reece like this

#2 abcdefghii

abcdefghii

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 20 April 2021 - 08:23 AM

I would say your prioritization is right, since you already have a Canon DSLR I would stick with that and look at a refractor. You could pick up an AT60ED brand new for right at $399, they are currently in stock and if you provide your cloudynights username then I believe they give you a discount at Astronomics. https://www.astronom...ed-doublet.html You would also need a field flattener and t-ring to mount your camera.