Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQMod Connect Error Timeout (worked perfectly last night)

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 oneredpanther

oneredpanther

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:07 AM

I've seem to have many random issues related to ASCOM! 
 

Last night everything ran perfectly, yet today (nothing moved or was even unplugged) I switch it on; connect the mount in PHD2 just fine, yet EQMOD insists Connect Error: Timeout. 

 

What gives? PHD2 is literally connected, but EQMods times out. The com port is the same, nothing has changed. 

 

Everything related to ASCOM seems less reliable than a Ugandan politician. 

 

Ran the diagnostics - says congratulations; all tests passed! :| 


Edited by oneredpanther, 20 April 2021 - 11:13 AM.

  • PirateMike likes this

#2 oneredpanther

oneredpanther

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:12 AM

I solved the issue! 

 

If anyone's interested in the solution: today is a day of particularly strong and fine solar radiation, with zero cloud cover. The high luminosity of my observing location obscured the light-emitting diode function of the ASCOM-driven mount hardware. 

 

Once I identified the root cause, and actually switched the power on at the wall, everything operated nominally. 

 

Einstein right here. 


Edited by oneredpanther, 20 April 2021 - 11:14 AM.

  • jdupton, PirateMike, BrendanC and 1 other like this

#3 PirateMike

PirateMike

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,842
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:14 AM

Try cleaning all the cable connections. 

 

Are you talking about Ascom or EQMod? They are not the same thing. EQMod is what runs your mount.

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.



#4 PirateMike

PirateMike

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,842
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:16 AM

I solved the issue! 

 

If anyone's interested in the solution: today is a day of particularly strong and fine solar radiation, with zero cloud cover. The high luminosity of my observing location obscured the light-emitting diode function of the ASCOM-driven mount hardware. 

 

Once I identified the root cause, and actually switched the power on at the wall, everything operated nominally. 

 

Einstein right here. 

Power is required! Batteries not included. smile.gif

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.



#5 PirateMike

PirateMike

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,842
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:33 AM

I always forgot to turn the mount on before trying to connect, so I had to walk back out to it just to turn it on. I just couldn't get out of the habit of forgetting for some reason. crazy.gif

 

 

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.



#6 ChiTownXring

ChiTownXring

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2020
  • Loc: Sugar Grove, IL

Posted 20 April 2021 - 11:47 AM

After the 2nd or 3rd time of not turning on my mount I went ahead and created a punch list and laminated it. I use it every time without fail so I am up and running quickly without having to think about "did I miss something" "on man now what's wrong" just to find out that I skipped a step.



#7 unimatrix0

unimatrix0

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2021

Posted 20 April 2021 - 12:34 PM

I do this nearly all the time. My issue is my 12V power adapter/converter cigar lighter plug is just not the most secure connection ever so I have to jiggle it around until I see the red light come up on the mount. 

By the way, it's not ASCOM's fault showing a connection. ASCOM only reports the cable used has a thing-of-a-jiggie  inside at the connector, that creates a port in your PC (COM2/3/4 etc) and it's active, even if the mount is off.  
It works in a similar way how old serial cable-connected devices used to work, like printers and such. For those you actually had to restart the PC after connection. 
Ancient technology, should have been renewed a long time ago, if you ask me. 


Edited by unimatrix0, 20 April 2021 - 12:39 PM.


#8 oneredpanther

oneredpanther

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Posted 21 April 2021 - 06:31 AM

Ancient technology, should have been renewed a long time ago, if you ask me. 

  • Don't worry, USB will make everything standard. 
  • Don't worry, USB 2.0 will make everything standard.
  • Don't worry, USB Mini will make everything standard.
  • Don't worry, USB Micro will make everything standard.
  • Don't worry, USB Micro-B will make everything standard.
  • Don't worry, USB 3.0 will make everything standard.
  • Don't worry, USB-C will make everything standard.

  • sbharrat likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics