•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Budget upgrades for a beginer

Accessories Beginner Eyepieces Equipment Filters
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 NintendoGamer

NintendoGamer

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Goli otok (Sestrunj)

Posted 20 April 2021 - 12:32 PM

Hi everyone.

I was thinking of buying a few accessories for my Skywatcher starquest 130p telescope. WIth it came a red dot finder and a 25mm and 10mm eyepieces. What would be the best accessories to buy? I have already put on the top of the list a 2x barlow. I  should clarify that I am a newbie and don't want to spend much money on stuff. Now I was thinking of eithier an eyepiece or a filter (a cheap UHC=almost a broadband). I have only enough money for on of those. Perhaps a 32mm eyepiece? I heard that svbony makes good budget stuff so if  someone recommends anything from them(I'll get their barlow).

Feel free to tell me anything that I didn't mention.

Edit: Forgot to metion I live in the suburbs of a city (Bortle 7) and we go often on an island which is Bortle 3-4. I don't do photography and I guess I like nebulas. My budget would be 40$ max.

Edited by NintendoGamer, 20 April 2021 - 12:34 PM.

#2 Barlowbill

Barlowbill

Apollo

• Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Posted 20 April 2021 - 01:00 PM

I would say go ahead and get a Svbony 2X Barlow.....except,  That takes your 25mm to a 12.5mm, which is too close to your 10mm.  Kind of a waste.  As for a 10mm being Barlowed to a 5mm, that might be a bit much magnification on occasion.

You might think about an eyepiece around 15-18mm.

• paul hart, Jim T and NintendoGamer like this

#3 WadeH237

WadeH237

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Ellensburg, WA

Posted 20 April 2021 - 01:13 PM