•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

SVX130T & SVX140T vs. Esprit 120/150

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Apollo

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 20 April 2021 - 04:36 PM

I am looking to get an APO in the 120-150mm range for AP to compliment my Esprit 100 and EdgeHD925.  This scope would be paired with my QHY268M.

I have no experience with SV scopes, and I am soliciting opinions of how the SVX130T & SVX140T compare to the Esprit 120/150 for photography purposes

The SVX130T is ~2x the price of the Esprit 120 and about the same as the Esprit 150.

Is there much difference between the SVX130T & SVX140T to justify the $1,500 difference?

How do the SVX130T & SVX140T compare with cream of the crop, AP130GTX (unobtanium) and TEC140FL?

Refractors.png

• AstroCatinfo likes this

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 20 April 2021 - 05:01 PM

I've owned two Stellarvues, although not the latest.

I'd saty they sit in between the Esprits and the TEC and the AP.  My Stellarvues came with optical analyses of the specific scopes, I don't think the Esprits do that.  It's not only some guarantee of quality, it's shows the Stellarvue mindset.

Where on the scale?   I'd guess closer to the TEC and the AP, but that's just pulled out of my ear.  <smile>

I own both 183 cameras, and am in the process of pretty much replacing them with both ASI2600s.   I don't consider the 183 as batting in the same league, am willing to tradeoff some imaging scale with my C8 RASA.  The 294 is possible, but I would want, instead, the 571 chip and 16 bits with any of your scope choices, I personally prefer ZWO to QHY.

If I was spending $6658 on a 130, I'd get the $8158 140 instead.  I'd call that just about a no-brainer.  <smile>  The question is the Stellarvue 140 or the TEC?  Closer call.