•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help! Canon EOS R won't take photos w/ Celestron Nexstar 5SE

Astrophotography Beginner Cassegrain Celestron DSLR Equipment Imaging
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 egarcia0033

egarcia0033

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: California

Posted 21 April 2021 - 04:08 PM

I am brand new to observing the night sky.  I bought a Celestron Nexstar 5se telescope (first time in my life seeing through a telescope or owning one) a couple of weeks ago and I've been learning so much!  I bought a Canon EOS R with the 24-105mm lens (first time owning a more than $200 camera) and I've been taking lots of great photos everywhere I go!

After viewing videos in YouTube (i.e., AstroBackyard, NebulaPhotos, etc.), I learned how to do the Manual settings and I was able to take photos with the EOS R and the 24-105mm lens of the night sky.  However, I still cannot get the EOS R to work with the Celestron NexStar 5SE.  I've tried many things every day (and night) over the past week, including setting the focus to infinity with the Canon 24-105mm lens, taking a picture with that setting, turning the camera off, taping the focus ring so that it doesn't move, connecting it to the NexStar 5SE, turning it on, acquiring the object, and trying to take the photo without any success.  Anyone know what the trick is?...  I'd greatly appreciate your advise to get my EOS R to work with my NexStar 5SE.  Thanks!

Edited by egarcia0033, 22 April 2021 - 02:22 PM.

#2 Mr. Pepap

Mr. Pepap

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Central Maryland

Posted 21 April 2021 - 04:20 PM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights!

SCT scopes are infamously hard to learn AP with, have patience!

I must acquire a bit of background info though to diagnose the problem: