•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Pro photographer starting deep sky imaging.

Astrophotography Beginner Equipment DSLR
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Raiser

Raiser

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 April 2021 - 08:53 PM

Hey all, 

I'm a professional photographer with 10 years of experience shooting studio portraits, and weddings, and product. I'm very confident in my technical knowledge and skillset. I fully understand almost all aspects of deep sky imaging but there are somethings I'm still learning. 
I'm here to ask for some equipment recommendations. I have a 2k budget and plan to use my unmodded a7III as my main camera. Looking for to squeeze pretty much everything in here, on board auto guiding (probably a raspberry pi), a fast ~600-800mm refractor scope and recommended field flattener, guide scope and camera, an EQ mount that has some flexibility for heavier setups in the future, and a good light pollution filter.

So far, I'm leaning towards:
William Optics Zenithstar 81 
Sky Watcher EQM-35
William Optics UniGuide 50mm finder scope
ZWO ASI120MM guide camera

If anyone has better recommendations please let me know 

Here's a image I shot of M42 untracked with my a7III with a 42 year old nikkor 300mm f/4.5
Used my tripod with a tilting center post as a crude EQ mount.
Got a little bit of trailing since I used the 500 rule instead of the NPF rule (won't do that again).
Kind of got the hang of processing though.

Attached Thumbnails

• T47yiAuc.jpeg

• kathyastro, Dynan and T~Stew like this

#2 randcpoll

randcpoll

Messenger

• Loc: New York

Posted 21 April 2021 - 09:05 PM