•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Short tube refractors and binoviewers?

Equipment Optics
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 peweg9

peweg9

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 April 2021 - 09:26 PM

Although I currently observe with a SW StarTravel 102mm f/4.9, my favorite viewing is through one of several binoculars I own. I'd like to expand my viewing capabilities and am considering a binoviewer for this telescope. Being a short tube refractor I'm concerned this may be an issue, at least from what I've read. I have no experience at all with binoviewers, so I'm hoping other folks who have experience using binoviewers with short tube refractors will chime in with some advice. 

Thanks. 

#2 jprideaux

jprideaux

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Richmond, VA

Posted 21 April 2021 - 09:59 PM

One quick thing you can check.  With using your diagonal, put your eyepiece in and get focus on something at infinity.  Then see how much your focuser will let you shorten the drawtube moving the eyepiece towards the scope.  This is how much "back-focus" you have to play with.  The binoviewer used with the diagonal will take up some optical length that will need to be made up for with moving your focuser in to achieve focus again.   Some binoviewers will take up as much as 100mm of extra light distance which can be a challenge to make up.  There are a number of tricks to make it work if you don't have enough inward travel distance. 

1.  You can simple add a barlow.  Some binoviewers come with a screw-on barlow which  increases the focal-length of the scope and pushes the focal distance out so you can reach focus with no other changes.  The "price" you pay is that your instrument is now at a higher power.   If you like that higher power, then no problem.